Books for November

Sadly, I was only able to read 5 books in the month of November. I was going to do a favortie books in November post, but hey, might as well do all five. (Note: these books are in no particular order.)

18693763

Everything I Never Told You

This book just broke my heart. I loved it because it looks at family and all the pressures that happen just inside the home. It’s not bad pressures, but pressures that can really put a strain on an individual. I could definitely relate to this book. It’s not all sad, the family learns to finally heal despite the odds.

 25735012

Career of Evil

This was probably my most anticipated book of the year. I had it marked on my calendar for months. My wonderful fiance (still not quite used to using that term lol) gave me The Silkworm for Christmas last year, it’s the second book in the series. And me, being the OCD bookworm that I am, refused to read the second book without reading the first, much to Brent’s dismay. So he bought me The Cuckoo’s Calling and after that I was hooked.

The whole series has to be one of my favorite crime series. Most murder mystery novels I read can be really predictable. I can usually figure out who did it not too long before it is revealed. But in all these novels I am left completely dumbfounded! I had no clue who the guilty party was until the author revealed it.

This installment focuses more on Robin, Cormoran’s assistant and partner. We learn more about her story and why she desires to pursue a career in private investigating. I can’t say too much without giving everything away.

Side note: Robert Galbraith is actually JK Rowling!!! I totally freaked out with I found out. She actually does an interview as Robert Galbraith and you can listen to it here.

22217702

The Secret Wisdom of Earth

I won this book in a drawing for the adult summer reading program this summer. I had never heard of this book and I finally gave it a go. And I loved it! I had just finishing reading To Kill a Mockingbird in preparation for Go Set a Watchman, and this book is so similar! A family seeks healing after the youngest son is tragically killed and finds it in a small town with their Grandfather. Instead of racism, it deals with homosexuality. But adds murder and suspense to it. This is definitely a book I will read again. And it took this guy 15 years to write it!

17878931

Red Queen

If you loved The Selection Series, you will love Red Queen. I actually liked this better. Less romance and more action in liberating people from a cast system. The next book will be realease in 48 days (Glass Sword). It’s already marked on my calendar.

23734628

Carry On

I debated and debated about whether to buy this one or not. I read Fangirl and loved it. The story is very interesting. We receive no background what so every. It’s like reading Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows without any of the other books, but it works. You can get more background from Fangirl as Cath writes the story, but Carry On is not what Cath wrote. It continues the story of Simon Snow, his enemy Baz, and many other characters. It’s extremely similar to Harry Potter. If I had read more books than just 5, it would not have made it onto this list. I liked it, yes, but it wasn’t as good as the others mentioned before.

Leave a Reply

